RSS

You leave me wanting

12 Aug

You are a wave in this ocean.

I love when you wash over my little toes as I wriggle them into the sand.

You feel so refreshing when you touch me…

Such an amazing balance cooling my skin from my life burns.

I wish you could stay forever and let me bath in the serenity you bring when you’re with me

….Surrounding me

….Caressing me

….Caring for me.

But just like a wave…

You ebb away from me.

Slowly at first.

Just when I am beginning to enjoy your presence.

You just leave.

Maybe you’re scared to stay and allow me to see your mysteries.

That’s why you run back to the sea’s protection.

And I burn.

I hurt when you leave me.

I wait for you to gather me back into your soothing embrace.

And you do… but after I burn some more.

But I don’t care because you are with me, loving me once more.

And you leave again.

This horrible, painful cycle is something I can’t seem to leave.

I can see your beauty and I would protect you from the oils and garbage that people carelessly throw at you.

But should I continue chasing after something that always slips through my fingers?

Always slinks away from me.

Maybe it’s time to find something sturdier to help protect me from the sun.

Something to enjoy and appreciate…

And protect you from the distance.

But will you come back?

Will you try?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2013 in Poems, Trains of Thought

 

Leave a comment